soundPublic meetings of the NCVHS are broadcast live on the Internet.

Final Agenda



Hearing on "Meaningful Use" of Health Information Technology

April 28 - 29, 2009

Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
2660 Woodley Road, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20008

Printable Acrobat Agenda Acrobat logo

Federal Register

NCVHS Observations Acrobat logo

  Tuesday, April 28



9:00 a.m.

Welcome and Roll Call

Harry Reynolds, Jr., Chairman

9:30 a.m.

Introductory Remarks

David Blumenthal, M.D., M.PP.
National Coordinator for Health Information Technology

9:45 a.m.

Panel 1: Vision of Health and Health Care Transformed

Carolyn M. Clancy, M.D. Acrobat logo
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Helen Darling
National Business Group on Health

Elliott S. Fisher, M.D., M.P.H. Acrobat logo
Dartmouth University

Stephen Schoenbaum, M.D., M.P.H. Acrobat logo
The Commonwealth Fund
Statement Acrobat logo

10:45 a.m. Break  
11:00 a.m.

Panel 2: Meaningful Use Capacity/Functionality in Electronic Health Records (EHRs)

David Classen, M.D., M.S. Acrobat logo
Computer Sciences Corporation (CSC)

Terry McGeeney, M.D., M.B.A. Acrobat logo

Blackford Middleton, M.D., M.P.H., MSc Acrobat logo
Partners Healthcare

John Tooker, M.D., M.B.A., FACP Acrobat logo
American College of Physicians

12:00 p.m. Lunch  
1:00 p.m. Panel 3: Meaningful Use Capacity/Functionality in Health Information Exchanges

William Bernstein Acrobat logo
Manatt Phelps Phillips

Rachel Block Acrobat logo
New York E-Health Collaborative

J. Marc Overhage, M.D., Ph.D.
Indian Health Information Exchange

Gina Perez Acrobat logo
Delaware Health Information Network

2:00 p.m. Panel 4: Meaningful Use Capacity/Functionality in Quality Reporting

Kristine Martin Anderson Acrobat logo
Booz Allen Hamilton

Theresa Cullen, M.D., M.S. Acrobat logo
Indian Health Service

John D. Halamka, M.D., M.S. Acrobat logo
US Healthcare Information Technology
Standards Panel (HITSP)

Karen Kmetik, Ph.D. Acrobat logo
American Medical Association

3:00 p.m. Break  
3:15 p.m. Panel 5: The "Glide Path" to Meaningful Use for 2011 and Beyond for vendors

Justin Barnes Acrobat logo
Greenway Medical

Glen Tullman Acrobat logo

Mark Segal, Ph.D. Acrobat logo
General Electric Co.

Fred Trotter Acrobat logo
Open Source Representative

4:15 p.m. Panel 6: The "Glide Path" to Meaningful Use for 2011 and Beyond for providers

Nancy Johnson Acrobat logo
Baker Donelson

Jonathan Perlin, M.D., Ph.D. Acrobat logo
Hospital Corporation of America

Farzad Mostashari, M.D. Acrobat logo
New York City Department of
Health & Mental Hygiene

Judy Murphy, R.N., FACMI, FHIMSS Acrobat logo
Aurora Health

5:15 p.m. Open Public Comments Harry Reynolds
5:30 p.m. Adjournment Harry Reynolds
  Wednesday, April 29


9:00 a.m. Welcome, Roll Call and Introductory Remarks Harry Reynolds, Jr., Chairman
9:30 a.m. Panel 7: Meaningful Use and Population/Public Health

Carol Diamond, M.D., M.P.H.
Markle Foundation

William D. Hacker, M.D., FAAP, CPE Acrobat logo
Kentucky Department for Public Health

Leslie Lenert, M.D., M.S. Acrobat logo
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

Martin LaVenture, M.D., M.P.H. Acrobat logo
Minnesota Department of Health

10:30 a.m. Break  
10:45 a.m.

Panel 8: The "Glide Path" to Meaningful Use for 2011 and Beyond for other stakeholders


Henry Chao Acrobat logo
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

John Kelly Acrobat logo
Harvard Pilrgim Health Care

Anthony Rodgers Acrobat logo
State of Arizona

11:45 a.m. Open Public Comments  
12:00 p.m. Lunch  
1:15 p.m. Panel 9: Certification and Meaningful Use - EHR Product Certification

Steven Findlay Acrobat logo
Consumer's Union

David Lansky, Ph.D. Acrobat logo
Pacific Group on Health

Mark Leavitt, M.D., Ph.D Acrobat logo
Commission for Healthcare Information

Rick Ratliff

2:15 p.m. Panel 10: Measuring Meaningful Use

Floyd Eisenberg, M.D., M.P.H. Acrobat logo
National Quality Forum (NQF)

Michael Rapp, M.D., J.D., FACEP Acrobat logo
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid

Micky Tripathi, Ph.D., M.P.P. Acrobat logo
Massachusetts E-Health Collaborative

Phyllis Torda Acrobat logo
National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA)

3:15 p.m. Break  
3:30 p.m. Open Public Comments Harry Reynolds
4:00 p.m. Subcommittee Discussion Harry Reynolds
5:00 p.m. Adjournment Harry Reynolds

Written Statements delivered to the Executive Subcommittee Acrobat logo

Should you require reasonable accommodation, please contact the CDC Office of Equal Employment Opportunity on (301) 458-4EEO (4336) as soon as possible.

Times, topics, and speakers are subject to change.  For final agenda, please call 301-458-4200 at NCHS or visit the NCVHS Home Page at

May 1, 2009